FLORIDA Unarmed Security Guards Licensing Requirements
State Security Licensing Authorities: Florida
Florida Unarmed Security Guards Licensing Requirements
The state of Florida like many other states has certain requirements that must be met prior to working as an unarmed security guard. In order to obtain the unarmed security guard license in this state a specific class must be taken to qualify for the Class D License, which qualifies a person in the state of Florida to work as an unarmed security guard.
The training for an unarmed security guard, should also include learning to observe, writing detailed reports, self-defense, and the procedure used to detain suspected violators. Other types of training are also required and are provided within the certified training courses.
The D License requires forty hours of classes in security training and must be taken from a certified facility. The training provided will include:
- Basic first aid
- Emergency procedures
- Crime and accident prevention
- Fire containment
- Legal liabilities and other issues
In order to obtain the unarmed security guard license the requirements of Florida State Statutes section 493 (ss. 439.6201 through 493.6203) must be met. These include:
- The person must be at least 18 years of age.
- They must have no disqualifying criminal history
- Provide a full set of fingerprints
- They must be legal to work in the United States.
- Sign a personal inquiry waiver to allow the department to conduct necessary background checks.
These are some of the requirements in the statutes section 493, which will need to be satisfied when applying for the unarmed security guard license.
When the unarmed security guard license qualifications have been met the Florida Class D Security license can be applied for and the process will include finger printing, a security guard photo ID and notarization of the license application.
A temporary card will be issued that will permit the applicant to be employed as a licensed unarmed security guard until the permanent unarmed security guard license is received from the state of Florida. This can be between 60 and 90 days when the permanent Class D license is issued.
When submitting the application for the unarmed security guard license information that will need to be provided in order to have the application approved will be:
- The name and address of the school or training facility
- The physical address where training has taken place
- Copies of the training curriculum
- Copies of the final examination
- The school and instructors must use approved criteria for training the unarmed security guard license
- A social security number must be provided
These are the different steps in the process that are needed in order to obtain the Florida unarmed security guard license to gain employment throughout the state of Florida. The courses that are required will have the curriculum to provide training for most types of situations the unarmed security guard will find himself or herself, faced with in the employment sector. This training will prepare the person not only to handle criminal and emergency situations, but also to handle day-to-day situations and paperwork.
State Licensing Application
Florida Armed Security Guard Licensing Requirements
The job of an armed security guard in the state of Florida is an important position, protecting properties from illegal crimes, theft, fire, vandalism and even terrorism. To be an armed security guard in this state, there is specific training that will need to be done, this includes training in firearms and other job related skills. There will also be training in legal issues that could arise on the job and filling out reports properly.
To perform the duties required of the armed security guard a Florida Class G license must be obtained. Classroom training must be taken at a certified training facility in accordance to Florida States Statutes Section 493, 790 and 775.
The training to hold a Class G license in the state of Florida includes:
- The specified amount of hours training in a certified facility according to the Florida statutes.
- Firearms training
- Target training and handgun marksmanship
- Ammunition training and firearms care
- Firearms safety
- Preventing accidents training
- The use of force
- Legal issues
- Civil liabilities
The person taking certified training will be finger printed, a photo ID will be needed and an FBI like background check will be done. The trained person must be at least 21 years of age in order to obtain the license issued required. When this information is cleared the appropriate Florida state license can be issued after training. This for the armed security guard is a Class G license. This license is issued by the Florida State Department of Agriculture and the trained armed security guard will receive their permanent card 60 to 90 days after the application has been submitted.
The person applying for a state Class G license in compliance with Florida statutes 493.6106, this also includes 744.331, which states there must not be adjudicated incapacitated in the state of Florida or any other state. Chronic or habitual alcohol use, or been found guilty of a controlled substance or committed for controlled substance abuse is included in the statutes.
This Class G license entitles the armed security guard to work in different locations, including:
- Banking institutions
- Air, sea and rail terminals
- Freight companies
- Art galleries and museums
- Sports Stadiums
This position is one of responsibility and as a trained armed guard it is expected the guard will show good judgment, follow directions, have a professional appearance and attitude. The ability to interact with the public, to take charge during emergencies or dangerous incidents will also be a part of the employment description.
This type of position is one that will often require drug testing that might be ongoing during the entire time of employment. These positions often require valid Florida state drivers license.
The armed security does not need specific educational requirements other than the certified training course and a high school diploma or an equivalency certification. This is attractive to prior military personnel who has gotten out of the military or has retired from a career in the military.
State Licensing Application