New Hampshire Security Guards Licensing Requirements

Security Guard Training, LEOSU

New Hampshire Unarmed Security Guards Licensing Requirements

State Security Licensing Authorities: New Hampshire

New Hampshire Security Guard License Requirements

The Permits and Licensing Unit performs background checks on individuals applying for pistol permits, private investigator licenses, security guard licenses and fireworks permits. The unit is also responsible for licensing and auditing all private detective and security guard agencies throughout the state.

Licensure Requirements

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • File a surety bond for $50,000
  • Complete all forms that have been filed in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, and present in person to the Permits and Licensing Unit
  • Two sets of fingerprints required of applicants for armed security guard
  • Annual firearms qualification is required for armed security guards
  • No exam required
  • Armed security guards are required to meet minimum requirements in the use of firearms at least once per year including four hours of instruction in firearm techniques and safety.

Fees

  • Individual license (biennial license)
    • $100.00
  • Agency employing more than one person (biennial license)
    • $40.00
  • Criminal background check
    • $25.00
  • Armed guard fingerprinting fee
    • $30.00
  • Duplication fee
    • $3.00
  • Agency employee license
    • $5.00
  • Investigation fee
    • $10.00

Regulatory Agency
Permits and Licensing Unit
New Hampshire State Police
33 Hazen Drive, Room 106
Phone: (603) 271-3575
Fax: (603) 271-1153
Web:  www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/ssb/permitslicensing

State License Application